Kyzylorda Region is located in the south of Kazakhstan, east of the Aral Sea. Its administrative center – the city of Kyzylorda – was founded in 1820. In Kazakh, the city's name means "the red capital". Kyzylorda was indeed the capital of the Kazakh ASSR in 1925-1927.

The climate in the region is continental. Summers are hot and dry, while winters are relatively warm and short. There is only one large river – the Syrdarya which is surrounded by a vast marshy delta. Most of the region consists of plains and lowlands, and only a small southeastern part is occupied by a relatively low Karatau mountain ridge.

In the west of the region, the Syrdarya River forms a delta with numerous swamps and lakes. Previously, the river flowed into the Aral Sea, but due to desiccation, the sea split into two bodies of water. Now the river flows into the so-called North Aral Sea. What is left of the sea has not lost its beauty and attracts tourists who want to see the site of the ecological disaster with their own eyes.

In addition to the Aral Sea, another object of interest for tourists is the Baikonur Cosmodrome. The cosmodrome administration allows visitors who are given a unique chance to witness actual rocket launches. Visiting the cosmodrome is quite a challenge – you need to collect passes and permits beforehand. However, a rocket launch is a phenomenal sight that is worth all the effort.

The Kyzylorda Region certainly has something to offer travelers. If you want to improve your health, there are many salt lakes with healing water and mud cure resorts. Wildlife lovers can visit the Barsakelmes Nature Reserve and the Kyzylkum Desert, which are home to many rare and endemic animal species. If you want to get to know Kazakh culture better, head to the Korkyt Ata Memorial Complex.

updated: 08 september 2022

Local offers:

All offers

Кызылординская область расположена на юге Казахстана, к востоку от Аральского моря. Административный центр – город Кызылорда – был основан в 1820 году. В переводе с казахского название города значит "красная столица". Кызылорда действительно была столицей Казахской АССР в 1925-1927 гг.

Климат в области резко континентальный и очень засушливый. Летом стоит жаркая и сухая погода, а зимы сравнительно тёплые и короткие. В регионе есть только одна крупная река – Сырдарья. Она окружена обширной заболоченной дельтой. Большую часть региона занимают равнины и низменности, и лишь на юго-востоке начинается относительно невысокий хребет Каратау.

На западе области река Сырдарья образует дельту с многочисленными болотами и озерами. Раньше река впадала в Аральское море, но в результате катастрофического снижения уровня воды море распалось на две части. Сейчас река впадает в так называемое Малое Аральское море. Даже то, что осталось от моря, не потеряло своей красоты и привлекает туристов, желающих воочию увидеть место экологической катастрофы.

Помимо Аральского моря, еще одним объектом интереса туристов является космодром Байконур. Администрация космодрома допускает зрителей на запуски пилотируемых или непилотируемых ракет. Попасть на космодром трудно – необходимо собрать пропуски и разрешения. Однако запуск ракеты – это феноменальное зрелище, которое стоит всех усилий. 

Кызылординской области, несомненно, есть что предложить путешественникам. Если вы желаете оздоровиться, здесь много соленых озер и санаториев с лечебной грязью. Любители дикой природы могут посетить заповедник Барсакельмес и пустыню Кызылкум, где обитает много редких и эндемичных видов животных. А если вы хотите поближе познакомиться с казахской культурой, отправляйтесь в мемориальный комплекс Коркыт-ата.

 

updated: 31 августа 2022

Предложения рядом:

Все предложения