Back to category Published: 19 june 2021 Author: Галина

National Crafts in Kazakhstan

Like many other countries, Kazakhstan has its own unique folk crafts that originated in antiquity and developed over many millennia. As a result of archaeological excavations, finds from the Bronze Age were found, which testify to the large-scale development of crafts even several thousand years before our era. During excavations throughout Kazakhstan, a large number of handicraft items were found: jewelry made of bronze, gold, silver, copper, weapons, household items, dishes, ceramic items decorated with ornaments, carved items made of bone, and horns. All these studies and research after them, including archaeological finds, tell us an amazing story of the development of Kazakh folk crafts.

Kazakh Folk Crafts

Kazakh folk crafts were formed under the influence of the nomadic culture of the Kazakh tribes. The difficult and even harsh life of the nomads forced them to independently make everything they needed for life from what they had at hand.

The main occupation of the nomad was cattle breeding and hunting, which is why products obtained from animals were used as materials for crafts: leather, wool, down, bones, horns of cattle, and small ruminants. All this led to the development of such crafts as felting and felt making, leather dressing, sewing leather and felt clothes, making carpets, and felt. The bones and horns of animals were used to make jewelry and some household items. During that period, the art of bone carving was also strongly developed. From the bones and horns of animals, the craftsmen carved various figures, made thin plates with drawings and patterns, which were subsequently inlaid with pieces of furniture.

Livestock leather and animal fur were used to make a wide variety of household items, from winter clothing and military armor to horse harnesses and water vessels. Naturally, leather was used to make shoes, in particular boots, because the nomads wore boots both in winter and in summer. Leather products were often decorated with embossing - this art was highly valued not only among Kazakhs but also among neighboring nations.

One of the most important and ancient Kazakh crafts is felt making and working with it. Thick felt ("koshma" in Kazakh) was used to cover yurts (traditional portable dwellings of Kazakhs), and thin felt was used as a material for sewing various clothes: chapans, dressing gowns, hats, etc. Felt was used as the basis for the «tekemet» carpet, which was laid on the floor in the yurt, and for the beautiful «tuskiiz» carpets with drawings and ornaments, which were hung on the inner walls of yurts as decoration. Along with this, carpet weaving from wool and the manufacture of rugs from thin strips of fabric «corpe» were well developed.

Working with wood was no less important craft in the life of nomads. Dishes, weapons, furniture, and other household items, parts for saddles, handles for working tools, various lockers, and chests were made of wood. All these items were often decorated with ornamental wood carvings.
A special place in wooden crafts is occupied by the manufacture of yurts, in particular, parts of the yurt frame: the tops (shanyrak), poles for the arch (uuk), and folding lattice walls of the yurt (kerege).

Let's dwell on the manufacture of yurts in a little more detail. Nomadic life presupposed frequent movement from place to place, so the nomad needed a fairly lightweight and quickly dismantled house. At the same time, the house must be warm so that it can survive the harsh steppe winter with snowstorms. This is how the yurt appeared - a mobile dwelling made of a wooden frame and a thick felt covering. Of course, most nomads could make a yurt on their own, but more often yurts, especially their basis, were ordered from artisans.

Another Kazakh folk craft associated with wood iт the manufacture of musical instruments. Dombra, kobyz, sybyzgy flute, and many other instruments in ancient times brightened up the harsh everyday life of nomads, were obligatory attributes of holidays ("toi" in Kazakh), and today they are full members of orchestras of folk musical instruments.

Metals were less common material for Kazakh artisans, although the Kazakhs knew how to smelt metal and make tools, dishes and weapons from it back in the Bronze Age. The bowels of Kazakhstan are still rich in various ores, including the ores of noble metals: gold and silver. Nowadays, many deposits have survived on the site of ancient settlements, where ore was mined and iron, silver, and copper were smelted. Many items were also made of native copper.

Blacksmithing was an important skill in the life of nomads: they constantly needed horseshoes, stirrups, harness parts, and harnesses for horses, knives, weapons, and other tools. But blacksmithing demanded a more sedentary lifestyle from the artisan, so forges were built and worked mainly in settlements and cities of the Great Steppe. Nomads often bought finished metal products from sedentary blacksmiths, rather than made them themselves. Blacksmithing and jewelry craft was developed in cities such as Sygnak, Otrar, Taraz, Turkistan, and others.

Kazakh jewelers were familiar with many techniques: forging, chasing, stamping, and others. The main material for decoration was silver, less often gold. Silver was used to creating rings, bracelets, earrings and pendants, clothing details - buckles and buttons. Weapons, furniture, clothes, and other household items were often inlaid with silver.

Pottery developed in the same cities and settlements. Making dishes, ceramic tiles, jewelry and even musical instruments (samsirnay, flute) from the clay were widespread everywhere. Pottery was decorated with ornaments and painted with national patterns, at fairs and bazaars, pottery rows were usually the largest.

Modern Crafts

Nowadays, the products of folk artisans are rarely used for their intended purpose and as household items. Usually, they are souvenirs made in a single copy of high quality. You can buy such products almost everywhere: in large shopping centers there is always a department with products of folk craftsmen. Festivals and specialized fairs of ancient crafts are often held; at such festivals, there are various masterclasses where you can try yourself as a Kazakh craftsman.

Where can you see the work of Kazakhstani artisans?

Ykylas Republican Museum of Folk Musical Instruments in Almaty. In the museum, you can see over 400 exhibits, more than 40 types and varieties of Kazakh folk musical instruments. The museum is located in a historic building - the former House of Officers' Assembly, built at the beginning of the 20th century, in 1908.

Ethnographic Hall at the Central State Museum of Kazakhstan, Almaty. Here are widely presented products of folk artisans, both historical and modern.

Hall of folk crafts in the Museum of the History of the City of Almaty — a permanent exhibition.

Museum of Arts named after Kasteev in Almaty. There is a permanent exhibition of applied arts.

Qazaq-Oner Center with two branches in Almaty. This is a training, industrial, trade, cultural, historical, and entertainment center where you can buy products of Kazakh artisans and try to do craft products by yourself.

In addition, you can buy something from the products of Kazakh artisans in almost all souvenir shops. One of these places where you can buy handicrafts is the pedestrian part of Zhibek Zholy Avenue in Almaty, or Arbat, which is a favorite place for painters, artists, and craftsmen.

Read more:

Send comment

Your email address will not be published
Please Rate 1-10

Comments

Назад в раздел Опубликован: 29 августа 2019 Автор: Manager

Национальные ремесла в Казахстане

Как и любая другая страна, Казахстан имеет свои уникальные народные ремесла, возникшие в древности и развивавшиеся на протяжении тысячелетий. Находки эпохи бронзового века свидетельствуют о широком развитии ремесел еще за несколько тысяч лет до нашей эры. Во время раскопок на всей территории Казахстана было найдено большое количество ремесленных изделий: ювелирные украшения из бронзы, золота, серебра, меди, оружие, предметы быта, посуда, керамические изделия, украшенные орнаментом, резные изделия из кости и рогов. Эти и более поздние исследования и археологические находки рассказывают нам удивительную историю развития казахских народных ремесел.

Казахские народные ремесла

Казахские народные ремесла формировались под влиянием кочевой культуры казахских племен. Суровая жизнь кочевников заставляла их самостоятельно изготавливать всё необходимое для жизни из того, что было под рукой.

Так как главным занятием кочевника было скотоводство и охота, поэтому в качестве материалов для ремесел служили продукты, получаемые от животных: кожа, шерсть, пух, кости и рога крупного и мелкого рогатого скота. Это привело в развитию таких ремесел, как валяние шерсти и изготовление войлока, выделка кожи, пошив одежды из кожи и войлока, изготовление ковров и кошмы. Кости и рога животных использовались для изготовления ювелирных украшений и некоторых предметов быта. Большое развитие получило искусство резьбы по кости. Из костей и рогов животных мастера вырезали различные фигурки, делали тонкие пластинки с рисунками и узорами, которыми потом инкрустировали предметы мебели.
 
Кожа скота и мех животных использовалась для изготовления самых разных предметов быта: от зимней одежды и воинских доспехов до конской сбруи и даже сосудов для воды. Естественно, кожа использовалась и для изготовления обуви, сапог, потому что кочевники носили сапоги и зимой, и летом. Кожаные изделия часто украшались тиснением — это искусство высоко ценилось не только среди казахов, но и среди соседних народов.  
 
Одним из важнейших и древнейших казахских ремесел по праву считается изготовление войлока и работа с ним. Толстый войлок (кошму) использовали для покрытия юрт, а тонкий войлок служил материалом для пошива различной одежды: чапанов, халатов, шапок и.т.д. Войлок служил основой для ковров “текемет”, которые стелили на пол в юрте, и для красивых ковров “тускииз” с рисунками и орнаментами, которые вешали на внутренние стены юрт как украшение. Вместе с этим было хорошо развито ковроткачество из шерсти и изготовление ковриков из тонких полос ткани (корпе).
 
Не менее важным ремеслом в жизни кочевников была работа с деревом. Из него изготавливалась посуда, оружие, мебель и другие бытовые предметы, детали для седел, рукоятки для рабочих инструментов, различные шкафчики и сундуки. Всё это зачастую украшалось орнаментальной резьбой по дереву. 
Особое место в деревянных ремеслах занимает изготовление юрт, а точнее деталей каркаса юрты: верхушки (шанырака), жердей для свода (уук) и складных решетчатых стен юрты (кереге). 
 
На изготовлении юрт можно остановиться чуть подробнее. Кочевая жизнь предполагала частые переезды с места на место, поэтому кочевнику нужен был достаточно легкий и быстроразборный дом. Но в то же время, дом должен быть теплым, чтобы в нем можно было пережить суровую степную зиму с буранами и метелями. Так родилась юрта — мобильное жилище из деревянного остова и толстого войлочного покрытия. Большинство кочевников, конечно, могли изготовить юрту самостоятельно, но чаще юрты, особенно их остовы, заказывали у мастеров-ремесленников. 
 
Еще одно народное казахское ремесло, связанное с деревом — изготовление музыкальных инструментов. Домбра, кобыз, флейта сыбызгы и многие другие инструменты в древности скрашивали суровые будни кочевников, были обязательными атрибутами праздников (тоев), а сегодня являются полноправными участниками оркестров народных музыкальных инструментов. 
 
Менее распространенным материалом для казахских ремесленников были металлы, хотя выплавлять металл и изготавливать из него орудия труда, посуду и оружие, казахи умели еще в Бронзовый век. Недра Казахстана и сегодня богаты разными рудами, в том числе, рудами благородных металлов: золота и серебра. До настоящего времени сохранилось множество выработок на месте древних поселений, где добывали руду и выплавляли железо, серебро, медь. Многие изделия делались и из самородной меди.
А вот кузнечное ремесло было важным умением в жизни кочевников: им постоянно требовались подковы, стремена, детали упряжи и сбруи для лошадей, ножи, оружие и другие инструменты. Но кузнечное дело всё-таки требовало от мастера некоторой оседлости, поэтому кузницы строились и работали, в основном, в поселениях и городах Великой степи. Кочевники же чаще покупали готовые металлические изделия у оседлых кузнецов, нежели сами изготавливали что-то. Кузнечное и ювелирное дело было развито в таких городах, как Сыгнак, Отрар, Тараз, Туркестан и других. 
 
Казахские ювелиры были знакомы со многими техниками: ковкой, чеканкой, штамповкой и другими. Основным материалом для украшения было серебро, реже золото. Из серебра создавали кольца, браслеты, серьги и подвески, детали одежды — пряжки и пуговицы. Серебром часто инкрустировали оружие, мебель, одежду и другие предметы быта. 
 
Там же, в городах и поселениях, получило свое развитие гончарное искусство. Изготовление посуды, керамической плитки, украшений и даже музыкальных инструментов (сазсырнай, флейты) из глины было распространено повсеместно. Гончарные изделия украшались орнаментом и  раскрашивались национальными узорами, а на ярмарках и базарах гончарные ряды обычно были самыми большими.

Современные ремесла

Сегодня изделия народных ремесленников редко используются по прямому назначению, в качестве бытовых предметов. Обычно это сувениры, выполненные в единичном экземпляре в высоком качестве. Купить такие изделия можно практически везде: в крупных торговых центрах обязательно есть отдел с изделиями народных мастеров. Часто проводятся фестивали и специализированные ярмарки старинных ремесел, на которых можно самому попробовать себя в роли казахского ремесленника. 

Где посмотреть на работы казахстанских ремесленников

•    Республиканский музей народных музыкальных инструментов имени Ыкыласа в Алматы. В музее можно увидеть свыше 400 экспонатов, более 40 типов и разновидностей казахских народных музыкальных инструментов. Сам музей располагается в историческом здании — бывшем Доме офицерского собрания, построенном в начале XX века, в 1908 году. 

•    Этнографический зал в Центральном государственном музее Казахстана, Алматы. Здесь широко представлены изделия народных ремесленников, как исторические, так и современные.

•    Зал народных ремесел в музее истории города Алматы — постоянно действующая экспозиция.

•    Музей искусств им. Кастеева в Алматы. Здесь есть постоянная экспозиция прикладного искусства.

•    Центр Qazaq-Oner (Казак Онер) с двумя филиалами в Алматы. Это обучающий, производственный, торговый, культурно-исторический и развлекательный центр, где не только можно приобрести изделия казахских ремесленников, но и самому попробовать свои силы в их изготовлении. 

Кроме того, купить что-нибудь из изделий казахских ремесленников можно практически во всех магазинах сувениров. Одно из таких мест — пешеходная часть проспекта Жибек Жолы в Алматы, или алматинский Арбат — любимое место художников, артистов и мастеров. 

Читайте также:

Оставить комментарий

Ваш Email не будет опубликован
Оцените от 1 до 10

Комментарии