Almaty is a unique megalopolis, which spreads out at the foot of the Zailiysky Alatau Mountains, the northern spurs of the Tien Shan Mountains. It is the largest and most populous city in Kazakhstan, the center of business and cultural life of the country, the southern capital, and the most active city in Central Asia.

Developed infrastructure, an abundance of attractions, rich history, and a special geographical location make this city a real discovery for any tourist who comes here for the first time or comes back again, having fallen in love with this city.

Almaty is called the southern capital for nothing. The cultural, financial, and business life of not only Kazakhstan but of all of Central Asia, is concentrated here. Dozens of different events, exhibitions, and concerts, business meetings, and conferences on a variety of topics are held here every day. The city life does not stop for a minute: day and night in Almaty is full of tourist life.

According to official data as of January 1, 2019, the city's population is 1,854,556, but in fact, the city has a permanent population of over two and a half million people. According to forecasts announced in 2018 by the akim (mayor) of the city, the permanent population will exceed 3 million people by 2020.

updated: 19 june 2021

Local offers:

All offers

Climate of Almaty

The city has a temperate continental climate, with mountain-valley air circulation. This makes summer cooler and winter warmer than the rest of Kazakhstan.

Climate of Almaty

Алматы — уникальный мегаполис, который раскинулся у подножия гор Заилийского Алатау — северных отрогов Тянь-Шанских гор. Это самый крупный и густонаселенный город Казахстана, центр деловой, культурной жизни страны, Южная столица и самый активный город Центральной Азии.

Развитая инфраструктура, обилие достопримечательностей, богатая история и особенное географическое положение делают этот город настоящим открытием для любого туриста, который приезжает сюда впервые или возвращается снова, полюбив в этот город.

Алматы не зря называют Южной столицей. Здесь сосредоточена культурная, финансовая, деловая жизнь не только Казахстана, но и всей Центральной Азии. Каждый день здесь проводятся десятки самых разных мероприятий, выставок и концертов, деловых встреч и конференций на самые различные темы. Городская жизнь не затихает ни на минуту: днем и ночью в Алматы кипит туристическая жизнь.

По официальным данным на 1 января 2019 года население города составляет 1 854 556 жителей, но на самом деле в городе постоянно живет уже свыше двух с половиной миллионов человек. По прогнозам, которые озвучил в 2018 году аким (мэр) города к 2020 году постоянное население перевалит за 3 миллиона человек.

Дата обновления информации на странице: 30 сентября 2019

Предложения рядом:

Все предложения

Климат Алматы

В городе умеренный континентальный климат, с горно-долинной циркуляцией воздуха. Это делает лето прохладнее, а зиму теплее, чем в остальном Казахстане.

Климат Алматы