Baikonur is a completely unique place on the map of Kazakhstan. This is the first space harbor of the planet, the place where the whole world history of space exploration began. From here the artificial Earth satellite was launched, from here Yuri Gagarin flew into space. Today Baikonur is one of the historical landmarks of modern Kazakhstan.
 
The city and the nearby spaceport have always been in a shroud of secrecy and prohibitions. Naturally, both the cosmodrome and the city itself, where scientists and workers of the cosmodrome lived, were always special restricted facilities, which were very difficult for a mere mortal to get to. Even the geographical location of the city and the spaceport was considered top-secret. Here is just one fact showing how serious the level of secrecy was: when trains passed by the Moscow-Tashkent railway, the light was switched off in the whole city so that it was not noticed by the passengers of the cars.

Today, everything is not so secret, but special regime status still remains.

The city and the cosmodrome are a territory with dual management and de facto dual law: it is long leased to the Russian Federation until 2050 and is considered both a regional governed city of Kazakhstan and a city of the federal significance of the Russian Federation. Therefore, on the territory of Baikonur there is Russian legislation for citizens of the Russian Federation, and also Kazakh legislation for citizens of Kazakhstan.

updated: 14 august 2021

Gallery:

Local offers:

All offers

Байконур — совершенно уникальное место на карте современного Казахстана. Это первая космическая гавань планеты, место, где начиналась вся мировая история освоения космоса. Отсюда был запущен первый искусственный спутник земли, отсюда Юрий Гагарин полетел в космос. Сегодня Байконур — одна из визитных карточек современного Казахстана. 

Город и расположенный рядом с ним космодром всегда были окутаны завесой тайн и запретов. Естественно, и космодром, и сам город, в котором проживали ученые и работники космодрома, всегда были особыми режимными объектами, на которые простому смертному попасть очень сложно. Даже само географическое положение города и космодрома считалось государственной тайной. Вот всего лишь один факт, показывающий, насколько серьезным был уровень секретности: когда по железной дороге Москвы - Ташкент проходили поезда, во всем городе организовано гасили свет, чтобы он не был замечен пассажирами вагонов.

Сегодня всё уже не так секретно, но всё равно особый режим сохраняется.

Город и космодром — территория с двойным управлением и де-факто двойным законом: она отдана в долгосрочную аренду Российской Федерации до 2050 года, и считается как городом областного подчинения Казахстана, так и городом федерального значения Российской Федерации. Поэтому на территории Байконура действует российское законодательство для граждан РФ, и также казахстанское — для граждан Казахстана.
 

Дата обновления информации на странице: 14 октября 2019

Галерея:

Предложения рядом:

Все предложения

Климат Алматы

В городе умеренный континентальный климат, с горно-долинной циркуляцией воздуха. Это делает лето прохладнее, а зиму теплее, чем в остальном Казахстане.

Климат Алматы