Aktau is one of the most fascinating and unusual cities in Kazakhstan. Its name is translated from Kazakh as "the white mountain." The city lives up to its name because it stands on a white limestone rock. Aktau is best known for its beaches and the sea; however, it can offer much more. Not far from the city, you can marvel at awe-inspiring, Mars-like landscapes. The region also boasts many historical and religious sites.

A bit of history

Aktau is a relatively new city that was founded in the 1960s when uranium deposits were discovered in the area. From 1963 to 1991, the city bore the name of the great Ukrainian poet and artist Taras Shevchenko, who was exiled to Mangystau in the mid-1800s. During the Soviet period, the city built industrial facilities and an infrastructure that allowed people to live in the desert.

After the collapse of the USSR, the city was named Aktau, and the development of the oil and gas industry began here. It gave impetus to the city’s growth and formed its current appearance. Now the city focuses on attracting more tourists. It is already in the top 10 most popular tourist destinations in Kazakhstan.

Things to know

The climate in Aktau is arid. The average temperature in July is +29°C (84°F), but sometimes it can reach +45°C (113°F). Winters are relatively warm in comparison to other regions of Kazakhstan. The average temperature in January is +1.4°C (34.5°F). Most tourists visit Aktau in the summer, at the height of the beach season. However, autumn and spring are also great times to travel. There is no sweltering heat, and in the spring, flowers bloom in the desert.

In 2022, the city's population is 209,776. Aktau is multinational: Kazakhs, Russians, Koreans, Ukrainians, Tatars, Azerbaijanis, Chechens, and people of other nationalities live there. People speak Kazakh and Russian, so learning a few phrases will make traveling a lot easier.

There are no streets in Aktau, and the city is divided into numbered microdistricts. Saying their address, Aktau residents give the number of the microdistrict, house, and apartment. This makes the address look like a phone number.

There are no natural sources of drinking water in Aktau. The city is supplied with fresh water by a water desalination station of the Mangystau nuclear power plant. Sea water is evaporated into a distillate, which is then mixed with mineralized water from an underground source. The water is then disinfected and people can finally use it.

What to see?

The sea and beaches are what draw sun seekers and beachgoers to Aktau. The swimming season starts at the end of June and lasts until September. During summer, the water warms up to 23°C (73°F). Besides just splashing in the waves, you can go underwater fishing, kitesurfing, paddle boarding, yachting, or boating.

The Aktau Embankment is one of the most popular places. It stretches along the urban coast of the Caspian Sea. In the evenings, vacationers gather there to enjoy the views of fiery sunsets.

Seaside Promenade is another location loved both by city residents and tourists. It runs between the cliff and the beach and allows you to admire a lovely view of the sea. In the evenings, the cliffs are illuminated with colorful lights giving them a magical feel.

You should definitely see the unique lighthouse standing on the roof of a 10-story residential building. This lighthouse has keepers – a family living on the top floor.

We recommend that you book a city tour to see all of these attractions, as well as many others.

Some must-visit destinations nearby

Aktau is a young city; there are no historical sites or ancient buildings. However, Mangystau is a region with a thousand-year history, which is famous for its ancient necropolises, underground mosques, and Muslim shrines. To see them, you will have to overcome tens or even hundreds of kilometers through the desert. The region is sparsely populated and doesn’t have the best roads so driving there can be a challenge. We recommend that you book a tour so that your adventure goes without a hitch.

The Mangystau Region will also be interesting for outdoor enthusiasts. Several million years ago, the region was covered by the waters of an ancient ocean. The ocean has dried up, leaving breathtaking landscapes on the surface. The Bosjira Tract, Mount Sherkala, Torysh Valley – these are some of the natural wonders that stagger the imagination.

Where to stay?

Every year, more and more hotels are built in Aktau. Here you can find accommodation options for every taste and budget: from a luxury hotel to an affordable hostel. Rixos Water World Aktau, the only all-inclusive hotel in Kazakhstan, has recently opened its doors. An aqua park, a sandy beach, gyms – there is everything you need for a great holiday. Caspian Riviera Grand Palace is another world-class hotel that amazes its guests with wall and floor aquariums where more than 400 species of fish live. Not far from the city, there are Tree of Life and Stigl recreation centers, where you can enjoy a relaxing holiday.

What to eat?

Aktau is the only city in Kazakhstan where you can eat fishbarmak. It’s a variant of beshbarmak – a traditional Kazakh dish made with either horse meat or mutton mixed with dough and onion sauce. As you might have guessed from its name, fishbarmak is made of fish instead of meat.

How to get there?

There is no railway station in Aktau, the nearest station is in the village of Mangystau, which is 16 kilometers (10 mi) away from the city. However, there is an airport that accepts both domestic and international flights. You can fly to Aktau from Almaty, Nur-Sultan, Turkistan, Uralsk, Atyrau, Aktobe, and Shymkent. Also, there are flights to/from London, Tbilisi, Kutaisi, Istanbul, Baku, Yerevan, Moscow, and Mineralnye Vody.

Aktau is reachable from Baku by ferry. The journey will take almost a day, but it is cheaper than traveling by air.

updated: 30 july 2022

Local offers:

All offers

Актау – один из самых интересных и необычных городов Казахстана. Его название переводится с казахского как «белая гора» и очень подходит городу, ведь Актау стоит на скале из белого известняка-ракушечника. Море и пляжи – это то, чем город в первую очередь привлекает туристов. Но пляжный отдых – не единственное, что может предложить Актау. Недалеко от города можно увидеть невероятные, поистине марсианские пейзажи, а также исторические и религиозные достопримечательности.

Немного истории

Актау – молодой город, появившийся на карте только в 60-е годы прошлого века, когда в окрестностях обнаружили урановые залежи. С 1963 по 1991 годы город носил имя великого украинского поэта и художника Тараса Шевченко, который отбывал в этих краях ссылку. «Пустыня, совершенно без всякой растительности, песок да камень: хоть бы деревце – ничего нет» – вот что говорил поэт о здешних местах.  

В советский период в городе активно развивалась промышленность, была построена инфраструктура, позволяющая людям жить в пустыне.

После распада СССР город переименовали в Актау, и здесь началась разработка нефтегазовых месторождений. Развитие нефтяной отрасли дало толчок процветанию города и формированию его нынешнего облика. Сейчас в Актау активно развивается туризм. Он уже входит в топ-10 самых популярных туристических направлений в Казахстане.

Общая информация и интересные факты

Климат в Актау засушливый и пустынный. Средняя температура в июле +29°C, но иногда может достигать +45°C. Зимы не очень холодные, средняя температура в январе +1,4°C. Большинство туристов посещают город летом, в разгар пляжного сезона. Однако, осень и весна – тоже прекрасное время для поездки. Нет изнуряющей жары, а весной в пустыне к тому же распускаются цветы.

В 2022 году население города составляет 209 776 человек. Город многонационален: здесь живут казахи, русские, корейцы, украинцы, татары, азербайджанцы, чеченцы и представители других народов. В городе вас прекрасно поймут как на казахском, так и на русском языке.

В Актау нет улиц, а город разделен на микрорайоны. Большинство микрорайонов имеют только цифровое обозначение. Говоря свой адрес, актаусцы называют номер микрорайона, дома и квартиры. Это делает адрес похожим на номер телефона.

В Актау нет естественных источников питьевой воды. Пресной водой город обеспечивает водоопреснительная станция МАЭК. Морскую воду путем выпаривания превращают в дистиллят, который затем смешивают с минерализованной водой из подземного источника. Затем воду обеззараживают и обогащают, после чего ею могут пользоваться люди.

Что посетить?

Пляжный отдых – то, чем Актау привлекает большинство туристов. Пляжный сезон открывается в конце июня и длится до сентября. В летние месяцы вода прогревается до 23оС. Помимо плавания в Актау можно заняться подводной рыбалкой, кайтсерфингом, покататься на sup-доске, прогуляться на яхте или катере.

Набережная Актау – одно из любимых мест отдыха горожан и туристов. Она протянулась вдоль городского побережья Каспийского моря. По вечерам на набережной собираются отдыхающие, чтобы насладиться видами моря и красотой заката.

Скальная тропа – пешеходная дорожка между отвесной скалой и морем. Со смотровых площадок здесь открывается потрясающий вид на море, а по вечерам включается подсветка скал.

Непременно стоит увидеть уникальный маяк, стоящий на крыше 10-этажного жилого дома. У этого маяка, как полагается, есть смотрители. За ним уже много лет следит семья, живущая на верхнем этаже дома.

Все перечисленные достопримечательности, а также многие другие, можно увидеть во время обзорной экскурсии по городу.

Окрестности Актау

Актау – молодой город, здесь нет исторических достопримечательностей или древних зданий. Однако, Мангистау – регион с тысячелетней историей, который славится своими древними некрополями, подземными мечетями и мусульманскими святынями. Однако чтобы увидеть все это, придется преодолеть десятки или даже сотни километров по пустыне. Поэтому, если вы интересуетесь историей и культурой здешних мест, заранее бронируйте экскурсию.

Мангистауская область также не оставит равнодушными любителей природных красот. Несколько миллионов лет назад, регион был покрыт водами древнего океана. Океан высох, оставив на поверхности захватывающие дух ландшафты. Урочище Бозжира, гора Шеркала, долина Торыш – вот лишь некоторые чудеса природы, которые потрясают воображение.

Перечисленные достопримечательности – далеко не полный список того, чем может удивить Актау и Мангистауская область. С более полным списком достопримечательностей вы можете ознакомиться в этой статье

Где остановиться?

В Актау с каждым годом появляется все больше отелей и гостиниц. Здесь можно найти вариант размещения на любой вкус и кошелек: от фешенебельного отеля до бюджетного хостела. Недавно открыл двери Rixos Water World Aktau – единственный отель в Казахстане, который предлагает гостям отдых по системе «все включено». Аквапарк, песчаный пляж, бассейн с морской водой – здесь есть все необходимое для отличного отдыха. Caspian Riviera Grand Palace – еще один отель мирового уровня. Здесь вы увидите встроенные в стены и пол аквариумы, в которых живут более 400 видов рыб. Недалеко от города есть базы отдыха Tree of Life и Stigl, где вы сможете насладиться спокойным отдыхом и чистым морем.

Как добраться?

В Актау нет железнодорожного вокзала, ближайшая станция находится в селе Мангыстау, что в 16 километрах от города. Зато здесь есть аэропорт, который принимает как внутренние, так и международные рейсы. В Актау можно долететь из Алматы, Нур-Султана, Туркестана, Уральска, Атырау, Актобе и Шымкента. Также есть рейсы в/из Москвы, Минеральных Вод, Лондона, Тбилиси, Кутаиси, Стамбула, Баку и Еревана.

На пароме до Актау можно добраться только из Баку. Путь займёт почти сутки, но это дешевле, чем лететь на самолете.

updated: 13 августа 2022

Предложения рядом:

Все предложения